New Racer, Preparing for 2015 season + move to Edmonton! Requesting Advice

smurf

Hey everyone, I'm new here so here's my intro. :)

About me: Canuck, moving to Edmonton in October, looking to join in on the fun with 0 racing experience under my belt (apart from track days a few years ago).

Since I'm new to both Edmonton and Racing, I have a few questions that I'm hoping to get some input on:

1) My bike - SV650 or a supersport (gsxr/r6/675)? I'd like a supersport but know that starting on something with less power is the smarter choice. Have others started on supersports without issue? Also, do most people have dedicated track bikes or do some of y'all convert your bike back and forth to allow use on the street too?

2) Storage - House with garage or apartment with underground parking? As I'm looking for a place to stay (currently looking at the area near Whyte ave for the younger crowd and selection of bars/restaurants) one concern of mine is where I'd keep my bike & work on it. I have the option of finding a house with a garage or I could look at apartments with underground parking.. Concerns of mine are preparing the bike for storage during the cold winters as well as having a peace of mind for the bikes security..

3) Transportation - Bring my RWD car from Vancouver or buy a 4WD vehicle? I'm considering 3 options: 1) Put winter tires + a block heater on my RWD car back home and bring it to Edmonton (will it survive the roads?). 2) Buy a 4WD Subaru 3) Buy a truck.

For the first two options, my plan would be to rent a motorcycle u-haul trailer and bring the bike to the track that way. For the 3rd I would just load the bike onto the back of my truck

4) Race Weekend Schedule - Could someone explain how a typical race weekend goes? Is it a day of practice and then 2 days of racing?

Cheers in advance for your guys input!

- Harp

teejay