Race Prep for a Noob

Ride_Bikes

Hey guys,

I have been playing on track for a few years now and am now thinking about trying my hand at racing competitively, with that said I am not entirely sure of all the requirements. I currently use my street bike for track days, a completely stock 2002 kawi zx6r, and am thinking of just converting this into my race bike; but also hoping to still be able to use it for normal street riding (if possible).

Here are the things that I understand and can figure out for myself: brake lever guard, shark fin, safety wire all nuts and bolts, covers for brake reservoirs, sufficient tire tread, fresh brake fluid and general up to date maintenance. Of course, can't forget to mention race school.

The parts I am unclear about are whether or not race fairings are required, and what is needed in regards to engine cover.

If anyone on here could shed some light on the situation it would be greatly appreciated.

Any additional pointers and suggestions are welcome as well.

Thanks in advance.

SetUpSixRR

EMRA Executive Member
Hey guys,

I have been playing on track for a few years now and am now thinking about trying my hand at racing competitively, with that said I am not entirely sure of all the requirements. I currently use my street bike for track days, a completely stock 2002 kawi zx6r, and am thinking of just converting this into my race bike; but also hoping to still be able to use it for normal street riding (if possible).

Here are the things that I understand and can figure out for myself: brake lever guard, shark fin, safety wire all nuts and bolts, covers for brake reservoirs, sufficient tire tread, fresh brake fluid and general up to date maintenance. Of course, can't forget to mention race school.

The parts I am unclear about are whether or not race fairings are required, and what is needed in regards to engine cover.

If anyone on here could shed some light on the situation it would be greatly appreciated.