New to EMRA + Race School Questions

emiliopeev

Hey Guys, i'm new to your forum and will be attending the Race School and potentially a few track days so I look forward to meeting all of you in person. Ill give you guys a little background on me. My name is Emil Peev and I am the president of the Saskatchewan Mini Road Racing Association. I've been riding for only 4 years on street and have been involved with the mini scene for 2 years now. I consider myself an average rider and i still have much to learn about road racing, so I look forward to learning a bit from the school even though I know there will be lots of overlap from the mini racing. I only have one on-board vid of me its from late last fall on our mini track. Heres the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYaP3b_rpAg. Yep i've been rubbing that pass in Bodhi's face quite a bit lol. :D

Anyways on to my questions. This will be my first time on a track with my 03 600rr. I have Sport Attacks on the bike right now with decent life left on the sides (I live in Saskatoon we only have a few good sweeping corners that are filled with imperfections). Judging my skill level from what you see in the video should i bother to buy some power ones? Is the difference that great in the amount of grip that for my sake and the street bike's i should invest in race tires?

Secondly, I heard from others that school is lots of stop and go with feedback and instruction track-side every few corners. Do we get the opportunity to just do laps at some point during the school?

and lastly should i bother bringing my Honda rs 85 out with some taller gearing? I missed the Stratotech mini round 2 years ago and it got canceled last year. If i do bring it will i get a chance to do some laps on the bike or is it just not its place among the bigger bikes? Ill probably bring it in case i manage to throw myself off the street bike.

YZF1000jon